Wenatchee, Washington, 1905

Mary and I are headed to the Museum to see history come to life in an exciting living history performance. Every year there is a production of People of our Past. In 1905 the good citizens of Wenatchee took their display to the Lewis and Clark Exposition in Portland, Oregon. The display was a grand success. Stepping into the Wenatchee Valley Museum today is a treat on its own, but on this day we will meet five characters who lived here in 1905. They stepped on the very same stage that is in the hall today.

We love stepping back in time. The characters answer our questions, but they know nothing past the year of the exposition. Their costumes are authentic as well as their knowledge of the times. They promote the wonderful fruit of the valley, just as we do today. They brag about the town and the exposition.

Mary says, “What a great show…so  glad we came>”

I say. “You know I have some treasures in my curio cabinet that came from the Lewis and Clark Exposition.”

“Of course you do,” she answers. She knows my house if full of antique treasures. Her house is neat and tidy. I think I will ask the producer of next year’s show if they could use my artifacts as props in the next production.

We had a lovely Sunday afternoon interlude from our usual routines.

 

 

 

Leave a comment